Monastery of St. Nicholas Filanthropinon or Spanos

The Monastery, located on the western shore of the island, is an institution of family Filanthropinon, one of the noble families of Constantinople, who settled in Ioannina after 1204.

Prominent representative of the family of Filanthropinon, Michael, priest and great steward of the diocese of Ioannina, founded (or restored radically) the monastery of St. Nicholas in 1291 - 1292. The monastery flourished in the 16th century when, on the initiative of Abbots Neophytos and mainly Ioasaf Filanthropinon, it was refurbished, expanded and frescoes were made in the katholikon. The monastery of Philanthropists hosts perhaps the most remarkable set of post-Byzantine frescoes of Epirus, work- starting point for the study of painting of the so-called School of northwestern Greece, also known as Ioannina School as well as the School of Thebes, from the place of origin of the only artists whose names are known.

Blind apartments are formed in the western part of the porch on the north from which the local tradition places the secret school. The broad agenda of the extraordinary frescoes of the Filanthropinon monastery were a pattern, pictorial index for many later artists. Many of the performances are very original. Among them, the performances of the seven wise men of antiquity (Plato, Apollonius of Tyana, Solon, Aristotle, Plutarch, Thucydides and Chilon the Lacedaemonian), in the western part of the southern outer narthex. The presence of these ancient characters, which are considered forerunners of Christianity, is an element rare in the Byzantine and post-Byzantine art that reveals the breadth of education and depth of theological knowledge of the inspirer of the iconographic program, probably the Ioasaf Philanthropini himself.


Metropolis of Ioannina

Address: Patriarch Joachim III, 10

Zip Code: 45221 POBox Giannina 1130

Phone: 2651025949