It is the largest in space and volume, building of Ioannina. Its construction went through many adventures. Construction began in 1935 according to plans of the gianniotissas architect Erikaitis Ioannidou (1910-1984).
The building of the Prefecture was bombed in 1940 and for many years after the war remained a ruin. It was rebuilt later and finished just in 1960. In 1970 a third floor was added in a traditional Gianniotiko shape but it contrasts with the austere and rigorous neoclassical style of the original building.
Address: Plateia Pyrros 1
Phone: 26510 87000