The Monastery is in a short distance, east-southeast of the monastery of the Merciful, with which it was connected, during the last period of operation, after the destruction of the sultan's troops during the siege of Ali Pasha.
The current complex of the monastery is dated, in its the biggest part, in the last period of operation, in the second half of the 19th century. However, the existence of the monastery seal dated in 1656, shows that the monastic institution was there since at least the 17th century. Moreover, in the 17th century documents preserved in the archives of Venice, testimonials identified for sponsorship to the monastery by Panos Hieromnemon, illustrious Gianniotis, inhabited in Venice.
But the heyday of the institution should be placed in the second half of the 19th century, when it was merged with the neighboring monastery Merciful Mary. At that time, in 1872, Hieratic School is founded, while a year later both the school and the monastery became Stavropegic. Besides the church, on the site there is the building of the School, which today, after its restoration, it functions as a library and a conference center.
Metropolis of Ioannina
Address: Patriarch Joachim III, 10
Zip Code: 45221 POBox Giannina 1130