In a short distance from the Monateries of Philanthropinon and Diliou, on the west side of the island lies the building complex of the monastery of Merciful Mary. And this monastery was originally dedicated to St. Nicholas, known as the method aton Monastery or Gkioymaton because of the Ioannina's family name known in the period of Turkish rule.
The change of the dedication of the monastery was due to the transfer of the miraculous icon of Panagia Eleousa, which originally was housed in the monastery of Agia Paraskevi, in Ioannina. When converting the monastery into a mosque, the picture disappeared, to be found in 1584 by the nun Parthenia, who transferred it to the monastery of St. Nicholas on the Island. Historical data for the establishment and the first session of the monastery have not been saved. It seems, however, that it had been founded before the mid-16th century, as indicated by tradition relatively to the transfer of the icon, as well as the dating of the initial phase of the catholic and its murals. The monastery has an extraordinary icon collection.
Among them stands the miraculous icon of the Virgin Mary Eleousas, dating around 1500, which is preserved with its silver casing, work of silversmith Kalarrytinou Diamanti. Besides the church, inside the tall stone courtyard there is a cluster of cells, nowadays restored. In this space the ecclesiastical Museum of the Metropolis of Ioannina will be hosted, where and the icons from the other monasteries of the island will be displayed.
Metropolis of Ioannina
Address: Patriarch Joachim III, 10
Zip Code: 45221 POBox Giannina 1130