Stoa was built after the arsony of Ioannina in 1869, during which most of the old Ioannina market was destroyed.
The shops housed inside, were built with stone and had arched doors of thick iron door wing, large windows and cellars.
The floors were stone built or of tudor style (wood paneling with plaster). These usually were inhabited by the families of the shopkeepers or employees. The gallery is decorated with fine stone reliefs. It is not built in a straight line (the only one) and among old shops it comes out into Canningos street. In the middle and on the left there is awell. Today it houses mainly fun shops and restaurants.
Entrance: Independence and Kaniggos